General passport and visa information for travelling to Italy

Italy is part of the Schengen area, so EU citizens can freely circulate in Italy with a simple national ID Card. EU citizens are not required to show proof of a return ticket or sufficient funds. Their documents (passport or national ID card) must be valid throughout the staying in Italy.

For citizens of the following extra EU countries, Italy requires a passport with at least 6 months of validity, but does not require a VISA for tourism and for short periods:

Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Dominica, El Salvador, Emirati Arabi Uniti, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM), Guatemala, Grenada, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Malaysia, Macao, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Northern Marianas, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Samoa, Santa Lucia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, South Korea, St, Vincent e Granadine, Taiwan, Timor Est, Trinidad e Tobago, United States, Uruguay, Vanatu, Venezuela.

Citizens of Taiwan exemption from visa obligation is applied exclusively to holders of passports with identity card number included.

Citizens of Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia are exempt from visa obligation only if the passport contains biometric data.

You can also check this service, maintained by the Italian Ministery of Foreign Affaires, that will guide you through a procedure to discover wether you need a VISA or not.

Please check the correct informations while planning a trip to Italy to avoid last minute problems and, if you need any advice, just contact Paola, she'll be happy to help.